Dataset: Broadcasting Licence Areas


The Broadcasting Services Act 1992 mandates that Commercial and Community broadcasting services are licensed to serve specific geographic areas.
These geographic areas are referred to as Licence Areas, and are determined by the Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA) in Licence Area Plans (LAPs).
The ACMA defines Licence Areas in terms of areas defined by the
Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) for the
purposes of the Australian Census. The smallest area unit currently defined
by the ABS is the Collection District (CD).

This dataset comprises the collection of current broadcast Licence Areas, and
is made available in five forms:

General Information