Dataset: Upper Namoi groundwater management zones



This dataset and its metadata statement were supplied to the Bioregional Assessment Programme by a third party and are presented here as originally supplied.

This dataset shows the 12 water sources as outlined in the Water Sharing Plan (2006):

Upper Namoi Zone 1: Borambil Creek Groundwater Source (hereafter Zone 1).

Upper Namoi Zone 2: Cox's Creek (Mullaley to Boggabri) Groundwater Source (hereafter Zone 2).

Upper Namoi Zone 3: Mooki Valley (Breeza to Gunnedah) Groundwater Source (hereafter Zone 3).

Upper Namoi Zone 4: Namoi Valley (Keepit Dam to Gin's Leap) Groundwater Source (hereafter Zone 4).

Upper Namoi Zone 5: Namoi Valley (Gin's Leap to Narrabri) Groundwater Source (hereafter Zone 5).

Upper Namoi Zone 6: Tributaries of the Liverpool Range (South to Pine Ridge Road) Groundwater Source (hereafter Zone 6).

Upper Namoi Zone 7: Yarraman Creek, (East of Lake Goran to Mooki River) Groundwater Source (hereafter Zone 7).

Upper Namoi Zone 8: Mooki Valley (Quirindi-Pine Ridge Road to Breeza) Groundwater Source (hereafter Zone 8).

Upper Namoi Zone 9: Cox's Creek (up-stream Mullaley) Groundwater Source (hereafter Zone 9).

Upper Namoi Zone 10: Warrah Creek Groundwater Source (hereafter Zone 10).

Upper Namoi Zone 11: Maules Creek Groundwater Source (hereafter Zone 11).

Upper Namoi Zone 12: Kelvin Valley Groundwater Source (hereafter Zone 12).


Zones used to describe the status and management of groundwater in the unconsolidated alluvial sediment aquifers associated with the Upper Namoi River and its tributaries.

Dataset History

The Namoi and Gwydir Water Management Areas, published in the NSW Government Gazette in November 2001.

Dataset Citation

NSW Office of Water (2006) Upper Namoi groundwater management zones. Bioregional Assessment Source Dataset. Viewed 10 December 2018,

General Information