Dataset: Natural Resource Management (NRM) Regions (2014)


The Natural Resource Management (NRM) Regions dataset is maintained for the purpose of reporting on the Australian Government's NRM investments. The dataset is designed to cover all Australian territory where Australian Government funded NRM projects might take place and includes major islands, external territories, and state and coastal waters in addition to the NRM regional boundaries. This 2014 version marks the change in NSW from Catchment Management Authorities (CMA) to Local Land Service areas which will now be used for NRM regions in NSW. The 2012 version updated and formalised the 2010 dataset (which was an interim update of the NRM Regions 2009 dataset, released Feb 2009). The original base layer version of this dataset was released in 2006 as the Natural Heritage Trust II (NHT2) Region Boundaries dataset.

Whilst the boundaries of NRM Regions are defined by legislation in some states and territories this dataset should not be used to represent legal boundaries in any way. It is an administrative dataset developed for the purpose of reporting and public information. It should be noted that from time to time the states and/or territories may revise their regional boundaries in accordance with local needs and therefore alterations to either the attribution or boundaries of the data may occur in the future.

Since 2006, NRM regions have been important in the delivery of Australian Government funding initiatives including Caring for our Country, the Natural Heritage Trust, the National Landcare Program, the Environmental Stewardship Program and the Working on Country Indigenous land and sea ranger program.
In total, this dataset represents 60 regions as set out below. They comprise 55 mainland regions administered by 54 NRM regional bodies (one region in QLD is jointly administered by two adjacent regional bodies) and seven islands (five administered by the Australian Government as external territories, and two administered by nearby mainland NRM regional bodies).


  1. Border Rivers Maranoa-Balonne
  2. Burdekin
  3. Burnett Mary
  4. Cape York
  5. Condamine
  6. Desert Channels
  7. Fitzroy
  8. Mackay Whitsunday
  9. Northern Gulf
  10. South East Queensland
  11. South West Queensland
  12. Southern Gulf
  13. Torres Strait
  14. Wet Tropics
  15. Cooperative Management Area (administered jointly by Cape York and Northern Gulf)


  1. Central Tablelands
  2. Central West
  3. Greater Sydney
  4. Hunter
  5. Murray
  6. North Coast (Including Lord Howe Island)
  7. North West NSW
  8. Northern Tablelands
  9. Riverina
  10. South East NSW
  11. Western


  1. ACT


  1. Corangamite
  2. East Gippsland
  3. Glenelg Hopkins
  4. Goulburn Broken
  5. Mallee
  6. North Central
  7. North East
  8. Port Phillip and Western Port
  9. West Gippsland
  10. Wimmera


  1. North
  2. North West
  3. South
  4. Macquarie Islands (administered by NRM South)

South Australia

  1. Adelaide and Mount Lofty Ranges
  2. Alinytjara Wilurara
  3. Eyre Peninsula
  4. Kangaroo Island
  5. Northern and Yorke
  6. South Australian Arid Lands
  7. South Australian Murray Darling Basin
  8. South East


  1. Avon
  2. Northern Agricultural
  3. Perth
  4. Rangelands
  5. South Coast
  6. South West

Northern Territory

  1. Northern Territory

External Territories (administered by the Australian Government)

  1. Ashmore and Cartier Islands
  2. Christmas Island
  3. Cocos Keeling Islands
  4. Heard and McDonald Islands
  5. Norfolk IslandCC - Attribution (CC BY)
    Data to be available in the Public Domain under Creative Commons by Attribution Licensing Agreement.
    More information can be found here:
    Data to be available in the Public Domain under Creative Commons by Attribution Licensing Agreement.
    More information can be found here:
    © Commonwealth of Australia (Department of the Environment and Energy) 2014

General Information