Dataset: Local Government Areas of Australia



This dataset and its metadata statement were supplied to the Bioregional Assessment Programme by a third party and are presented here as originally supplied.

The digital boundaries for this edition of the ASGC are consistent with the spatial units described in the structures of the ASGC 2011. Date of effect of this edition is 1 July 2011. Digital boundaries are for Statistical Local Area (SLA), Statistical Subdivision (SSD), Statistical Division (SD), Local Government Area (LGA), Statistical District (SDIST), Major Statistical Region (MSR), Statistical Region (SR), Statistical Region Sector (SRS) and State/Territory (STE).

This is the final edition of the ASGC. To assist in the transition to the new Statistical Geography, the Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS), the 2011 SLAs have been aggregated up from the 2011 Mesh Blocks (MB). The 2011 MBs are also the building blocks for the 2011 ASGS.

Dataset History

MB boundaries are aggregated up to form the 2011 SLA boundaries. The MB boundaries

were created using various sources including the PSMA digital topographic datasets and

ABS SLA boundaries, zoning information from state planning agencies and imagery.

Higher level spatial units are aggregated from the SLA level.

Dataset Citation

Australian Bureau of Statistics (2011) Local Government Areas of Australia. Bioregional Assessment Source Dataset. Viewed 14 June 2018,

General Information